Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Motivation and experience

+2
Courtney M
Whiteape
6 posters

Go down

Motivation and experience Empty Motivation and experience

Post  Whiteape Wed Jun 18, 2008 3:33 pm

Okay so here it goes. I'd like to get an idea of everyone's experiences to date as far as what you have trained and what led you to try wushu as well as your motivations and focuses in training. I will start with a bit about myself.

I started training Tae Kwon Do at the age of 11 for about 2 1/2 years. I, like many boys, thought martial arts, kung fu, karate, ninjas, etc... were pretty flippin' cool and also really began to feel the need to get in shape at that age. I was on the cusp of being in between the kids and adult classes so I often trained with either/both. By my second year of training I was full time in the adult classes where I would spar at least twice a week with mostly men and some women usually much bigger and stronger than me (there was one guy that was a racehorse jockey...very small, but still quite strong). I've never been particularly fond of confrontation, but I grew up in a rough area where I couldn't always avoid fights so I had some idea of holding my own before I started training. This combination of factors served me pretty well in high school. Although I stopped my Tae Kwon Do training part way through my freshman year, my chops were periodically tested despite my willingness to walk away most of the time. I found myself not often using the fancy, fast, high kicking techniques emphasized in TKD, but the general fitness and comfort level I gained from training and sparring against stronger people proved quite helpful. The occasional strong low to mid level kick was pretty effective for me and every once in a while a high kick was effectively delivered, but mainly I used punches and throwing techniques somewhat crudely. From 14 through 19 I didn't train in any martial art for